Holy Scriptures

The Holy Scriptures (Bible) are made up of the New and Old Testaments. In church, we hear readings or chants from both.

The first four books of the New Testament are known as the Gospels. These are:

  • Matthew;
  • Mark;
  • Luke; and
  • John.

The Holy Gospel is God’s good news of His gift of eternal life.

In church, we listen to the Holy Gospel with wisdom, in peace, and we receive guidance on the path to Salvation. We read the Gospels at home to strengthen these messages.

Wisdom, Arise! Let us hear the Holy Gospel. Peace be to all.
(Divine Liturgy)